ya

The Female of the Species

A contemporary YA novel that examines rape culture through alternating perspectives. Alex Craft knows how to kill someone. And she doesn’t feel bad about it. Three years ago, when her older sist...

13 Reasons Why is Coming to Netflix

I think every author’s dream is to have Netflix adapt their book. Jay Asher and his book 13 Reasons Why have officially realized that dream. I passed 13 Reasons Why on the shelves for years but ...

Labyrinth Lost Spoilers

Chelsey and Alexandra go more in depth on what they liked about Labyrinth Lost. Guess what, it's not what you would expect.

4.6 Poor

Kill the Boy Band: Or How I Learned to Love Fandom

Just know from the start that it wasn’t supposed to go like this. All we wanted was to get near them. That’s why we got a room in the hotel where they were staying. We were not planning to kidnap one ...

7.4 Good

A Court of Mist and Fury: Ramblings

Me on the inside reading ACOMAF For the entire book. Tamlin to Tool (spoilers below) First of all: fucking Tamlin. I love looking at the story from Tamlin’s unreliable perspective. In TamlinR...

I Hate YA Romance (But I’m Also a Liar)

Eww. Gross. Yucky. I hate romance in YA and have since I was old enough to recognise that cliches were the buns around every YA burger. I was probably 14. Now, I’m not talking about pure romance...

Allegiant Movie Review

Both Chelsey and I didn’t really like the final book in the Divergent Series. Characters went out of their way to make stupid decisions which felt out of character. The story dragged and never f...

The Rest of Us Just Live Here Review

If you need to recover from a YA binge this book is going to make you laugh and give you exactly what you need. We’re just glad this book finally exists.

7.8 Good

5 Kickin’ Literary Podcast Episodes

Confession Time: podcasts are my new media lord and master. I started listening to them when I realized how slow an office job could be and I have been slowly expanding my list of shows ever since. Ni...

Dream A Little Dream

Dream a Little Dream is a novel in the vein of Maggie Stiefvater's Raven Cycle. An interesting premise that is only held back by it's translation. If you like stories about dream magic, than check thi...

9 Amazing

Rebel Belle

Rebel Belle is a fun, well paced story in the vein of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Clueless. It never left me bored.

7.2 Good

Insurgent Movie Vlog

Alexandra and Chelsey saw Insurgent.... Mild spoilers for the movie.

Afterworlds Review

Afterworlds is a new creature of it’s own. A genre mashup you will not forget, from it’s holy-crap-did-that-just-happen thriller beginning to the book-well-published ending. It’s a must read, especial...

8.6 Great

Top 5 Wednesday: YA Horror

Have you realized that a lot of YA horror novels tend to be supernatural creepy or some shade of paranormal romance? Where are the teen Hannibal Lectors? Actually, you know what. Forget that I asked t...

Graceling

Graceling is a decent fantasy novel. Despite its faults Kristin Cashore shows to be a promising author and one worth watching.

6.4 Fair
  • 1
  • 2
  • 5

Lost Password

Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.